Kyle Busch To Race Alongside Brother Kurt At Race Of Champions In Miami

Mon, Dec 19, 2016 2,366

If you’re a fan who’s already having NASCAR withdrawal, we have good news. It appears you won’t need to wait until the 2017 season begins to see some of the sport’s biggest names on track.

Joe Gibbs Racing driver Kyle Busch will compete in the 2017 Race of Champions at Marlins Park in Miami on Jan. 21 and 22, ROC announced Monday. The 2015 premier series champion will race alongside his brother and 2004 champion, Kurt, for Team USA NASCAR in the ROC Nations Cup on Sunday, Jan. 22.

“It’s really cool to be included in the 2017 Race of Champions,” Kyle said in a statement. “You look at the list of drivers and their backgrounds and it’s pretty impressive. I love to race anything I can, so I’m really excited to be heading to Miami and getting behind the wheel of some different types of vehicles in order to compete against the best guys in the world.”

Because this will be the first time the competition will been held in the U.S., ROC has already confirmed two other Team USA pairings. Team USA IndyCar will be comprised of Indianapolis 500 champion Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay, and two-time defending Red Bull GRC champion will join forces with Travis Pastrana on Team USA Rally X.

“It’s fantastic that Kyle and Kurt have agreed to join forces for Team USA NASCAR in the ROC Nations Cup too,” ROC president Fredrik Johnsson said, via ROC’s website. “It will be fascinating to see how they get on against the other American racers from IndyCar and Rally X, plus some of the best drivers from all over the world. Now we hope to see plenty of NASCAR fans in the Miami crowds ready to cheer Kyle and Kurt on.”

The two-day event involves both an individual and team competition, dubbed the Race of Champions and the ROC Nations Cup, respectively. Below are the remaining nine drivers who have confirmed they will compete in ROC Miami, and more are expected to be announced before Jan. 21.

Team U.K.:
Jenson Button
David Coulthard

Team Colombia:
Juan Pablo-Montoya
Gabby Chaves

Team Brazil:
Felipe Massa
Tony Kanaan

Team Denmark:
Tom Kristensen

Team Norway:
Petter Solberg

Team Germany:
Sebastian Vettel

Thumbnail photo via Jerome Miron/USA TODAY Sports Images